Posted in Yoga School Rishikesh, yoga teacher training in india, yoga teacher training in rishikesh

Does philosophy mean anything in your life?


Philosophy most definitely means something to my life. For the past five or so years, I have been trudging along a conscious way of living. I have paid attention to my health as a whole and have tried my best to live according to my own understanding of morality.

pny

In this time, I have learned so much about myself and my lifestyle, about happiness and about integrity. By definition of Patanjali “yoga chitta vrpnyitti nirodhah”, which means “yoga is stopping the patterns of the mind”. For me, this is the supreme definition. Silence of the mind renders us free to directly experience the present moment, which can be a lot harder than it sounds if you are living in modern society. The conditions of pnymy humanity continue to lead me away from this present moment and thus, happiness. For example, one of my own mental patterns is to compare myself to others. My ego swings back and forth from superiority to inferiority, not always, but it does happen. I think this is a nearly universal pnyhuman habit and one that greatly alters our perception of reality, of what is real. It is a fear-based pattern that can make me act and react to life in ways that are out of sync with who I truly am. It creates suffering, more than what is normal for a person, and it leads me away from the divine path. Philosophically, yoga is a lasting solution to this hell, provided I work hard.

 

Author:

Charlene Driver
Charlene Driver

 

Author:

A national yoga organization of india offers yoga courses and retreat in Rishikesh

Leave a Reply

